Parish Council and Local Government

Mereworth Parish Council consists of seven members.  They meet monthly in the Village Hall and have one Committee – a Planning Committee which meets twice per month.

The Parish Council is responsible for –

Allotments – -please call the Clerk 01732 846192

Recreation Ground  and Sports Pavilion – football pitches are available for use by local teams – please contact the Clerk

Childrens Play area – located close to the Recreation Grounds

Other activities include – provision of bus shelters, seats, litter bins, highway works, planning consultation.


                                            Views from Mereworth


Kent County Council

The County Council’s main offices are:-

County Hall



ME14 1XQ   

Tel:- 01622 671411



The Count Council’s main responsibilities are:-


  • Education including schools, colleges, adult education, libraries, museums, archives, day centres, youth and community centres
  • Social Services including the welfare of the elderly and children
  • Waste Management including the provision of waste disposal sites, recycling and landfill
  • Kent Highways, including road safety, highways improvements, street lighting and day to day management of all roads within Kent other than motorways which are the responsibility of Highways Agency and those in Medway Council area (24hr emergency helpline for highways issues – 08458 247800)
  • Trading Standards, licences and street trading
  • Economic Development
  • County Supplies
  • Leisure and Culture, arts and entertainment
  • Country Parks
  • Emergency Planning
  • Registrar of Births Marriage and Deaths
  • Strategic Planning


Mereworth falls within the Malling Rural East Ward and is represented by one County Councillor as follows:-


Matthew Balfour

St Pirans House

Teston Rd, Offham

West Malling ME19 5PD

01732 870253

07767 377458


Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council


The Borough Council’s main offices are:-


Gibson Building

Gibson Drive

Kings Hill

West Malling


ME19 4LZ


Tel:- 01732 844522




Offices are open from 8.30am to 5pm, Monday to Friday.


The Borough Councils main responsibilities are:-


  • Recycling and waste collection
  • Street cleaning including fly tipping, abandoned vehicles, graffiti, dog fouling and weeds
  • Planning issues including planning applications, planning enforcement, building regulations and planning


  • Transportation and environmental schemes to improve the street scene and highway safety
  • Parking management including on and off street car parks, fixed penalty notices, parking permits
  • Environmental Health including food hygiene enforcement, pollution control including noise and pest


  • Leisure and culture including provision of leisure centres, parks, open spaces, golf centre; promotion of

        tourism, the arts and sports development

  • Housing including help and advice to those in need of housing, homelessness, grants for adaptations for

        the elderly and those with disabilities and housing benefit

  • Crime and disorder reduction including work to reduce anti-social behaviour, criminal damage, offences against the person, environmental crime and substance  


  • Collection of Council Tax on behalf of Kent County Council, Kent Police Authority, Kent and Medway

       Towns Fire Authority and parish councils


The Borough Council comprises 53 councillors of varying political parties.  The parish of Mereworth falls within the ward of Hadlow, Mereworth and West Peckham and is represented by two Borough Councillors as follows:-


Piers Montague
Basted Lane
Crouch, Sevenoaks
TN15 8PZ
07870 575 729


Mrs Ann Kemp

Great Reeds

Ford Land


ME19 5DP

tel 01732822281


Mereworth Parish Council has an overall responsibility for the well-being of the local community.  Its work falls into three main categories:-


  • Representing the local community
  • Delivering services to meet local needs
  • Striving to improve quality of life in the parish


The Parish Council is responsible for providing and maintaining the following services:-


  • Allotments
  • Bus shelters
  • Recreation Ground including football and cricket pitches
  • Children’s playground
  • Sport Pavilion (managed for the Parish Council by   

        Mereworth Village Halls)

  • Enhanced grass cutting to public highways
  • Consultee on planning applications
  • Grounds maintenance within St Lawrence Church
  • Provision of salt bins
  • Member of Joint Parish Councils Traffic Liaison Committee

The Council usually meets on 4th Tuesday of each month at 7.00pm in the Village Hall in Butchers Lane.  A section of the meeting does allow for questions from parishioners.  The Council also has a Planning Committee which usually meets following the Parish Council meetings, subject to there being planning business in hand.   Members of the public are also welcome at these meetings. Agendas for all meetings are posted on the village hall notice board before meetings take place. 


The Council comprises 7 elected or co-opted councillors and one part time paid Clerk to the Council.   For day to day issues, contact the Clerk as detailed below:-


Clerk to the Parish Council –

Mrs Gill Kirby, 31 Cottenham Close, East Malling, ME19 6BY 01732 846192



Current councillors are as detailed on the Members pages